At Riches McKenzie & Herbert LLP, we offer an unprecedented level of commitment to our clients.  As one of Canada’s oldest and most respected boutique intellectual property law firms, we always look to the future, while remaining true to the longstanding tradition of the firm founded by Charles H. Riches over a century ago.

HOLIDAY AND OFFICE CLOSURES IN CANADA

WEEKENDS

The Canadian Intellectual Property Office is closed every Saturday and Sunday.

Our office likewise operates on a weekday schedule, and over the coming calendar year will also be closed each Saturday and Sunday.

NATIONAL HOLIDAYS

Christmas Day:                       Monday, December 27, 2021 (extended)

Boxing Day:                            Tuesday, December 28, 2021 (extended)

New Year’s Day:                    Monday, January 3, 2022 (extended)

Good Friday:                          Friday, April 15, 2022

Victoria Day:                           Monday, May 23, 2022

Canada Day:                          Friday, July 1, 2022

Labour Day:                            Monday, September 5, 2022

Thanksgiving Day:                  Monday, October 10, 2022

Christmas Day:                       Monday, December 26, 2022 (extended)

Boxing Day:                            Tuesday, December 27, 2022 (extended)

New Year’s Day:                     Monday, January 2, 2023 (extended)

PROVINCIAL HOLIDAYS

(i) Quebec Holidays

In addition to weekends and National holidays, the main office of the Canadian Intellectual Property Office will be closed for Easter Monday on April 18, 2022, for Fête nationale du Québec (formally St. Jean Baptiste Day) on Friday, June 24, 2022, for National Day for Truth and Reconciliation on Friday, September 30, 2022, and for Remembrance Day on Friday, November 11, 2022.

Our office will be open on each of Monday, April 18, 2022; Friday, June 24, 2022; Friday, September 30, 2022; and Friday, November 11, 2022.

(ii) Ontario Holidays

Our office will be closed on the following Ontario Provincial holidays:

Ontario Family Day: Monday, February 21, 2022
Civic Holiday: Monday, August 1, 2022

EXTENSION OF DUE DATES

 Patents | Trademarks | Industrial Designs

Any due dates to file new national patent, PCT patent, Industrial Design, or Trademark applications which fall on either a Saturday or Sunday, on the first Monday in August, or on any of above-mentioned National or Quebec Provincial holidays, are extended to the next day on which the Canadian Intellectual Property Office is open for business.

Under the new Canadian Patent Rules, Trademark Regulations and Industrial Design Regulations, due dates falling on Monday, February 21, 2022 will not be treated like a holiday, and thus will not be extended.  We therefore ask that you please ensure to provide our office with instructions prior to 9:00 a.m. EST on Friday, February 18, 2022 at the very latest for any due dates that fall on February 19, 20 or 21, 2022.

OURcontact

We are conveniently located at the northeast corner of Yonge and Bloor Streets in Toronto. Our offices are located on the 18th floor at 2 Bloor Street East.

Riches McKenzie & Herbert LLP
2 BLOOR STREET EAST, SUITE 1800,

TORONTO, CANADA M4W 3J5

(416) 961-5000
09.00 am to 5.00 pm E.S.T.
riches@patents-toronto.com

LEAVE A MESSAGE

Scroll to Top